Container cafe
By our estimate, a café in a real shipping container comes to about ₹4.3 to ₹4.7 lakh as a 20 ft kiosk and ₹8.4 to ₹8.6 lakh as a 40 ft high cube cafeteria with seats inside. That pays for the box and its haulage, insulation, lining, a shutter over the hatch, a granite counter with a sink, a hand-wash basin and the wiring; cutting and framing the hatch, the entrance door and glass, lights, the exhaust hood, the gas line, the kitchen equipment and the connections come on top. We priced each part at the rates of India's Central Public Works Department (CPWD), for a box hauled from Mundra to Delhi NCR. No café listed with a price passed our test of a real container: the “container cafés” sold online are mostly prefab cabins, 10 or 12 ft wide. Since April 2026, a small café needs an FSSAI registration, not a licence, up to ₹1.5 crore of turnover.
Updated 22 Oct 2026Container cafe price in India, part by part
| Part | 20 ft café kiosk | 40 ft high cube café with seating | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| The box used, "from" price with GST added | ₹1,23,000 | ₹1,86,000 | our survey |
| Haulage Mundra to Delhi NCR, GST not stated | ₹53,000 to ₹95,000 (estimated from the 40 ft rates) | ₹87,000 to ₹1,06,000 | published tariffs; our estimate from them (20 ft café kiosk) |
| Crane one day, before GST, margin and travel to the site | ₹5,000 | ₹5,000 | DSR 2023, hire charges, 0037 |
| Foundation concrete piers of 600 mm cube, digging extra | ₹7,000 (4 piers) | ₹10,000 (6 piers) | DSR 2023, 4.1.3 |
| Insulation 50 mm XPS board, walls and ceiling | ₹55,000 (53 m²) | ₹1,09,000 (106 m²) | DSR 2023, 26.7 and 26.8 |
| Inside lining 12.5 mm gypsum board on a steel frame, unpainted | ₹72,000 (53 m²) | ₹1,44,000 (106 m²) | DSR 2023, 12.45.1 (a false-ceiling item) |
| Floor ceramic tiles; the board laid over the plywood first is extra | ₹15,000 (14 m²) | ₹31,000 (28 m²) | DSR 2023, 11.37 |
| Windows uPVC sliding windows of 1.2 × 1.2 m, glass extra | ₹12,000 (1 window) | ₹48,000 (4 windows) | DSR 2023, 9.147.A1.1 |
| Inside doors flush doors of 0.9 × 2.1 m | none | ₹4,000 (1 door) | DSR 2023, 9.21.2 |
| Serving hatch a steel rolling shutter over the serving opening | ₹11,000 (2.88 m²) | ₹11,000 (2.88 m²) | DSR 2023, 10.6.1 |
| Counter top 600 mm deep polished granite, with an edge and a sink cut-out; the base is extra | ₹8,000 (2.4 m) | ₹11,000 (3.6 m) | DSR 2023, 8.2.3.2, 8.3.2 and 8.5 |
| Sink, basin and water a stainless steel sink with drainboard, its trap and waste, a hand-wash basin, and a water pipe | ₹12,000 (1 sink, 1 basin, 8 m) | ₹13,000 (1 sink, 1 basin, 12 m) | DSR 2023, 17.10.1.1, 17.28.1.2, 17.69.2, 17.70.2, 17.7.2 and 18.7.1 |
| Power for appliances 25 A sockets with their own breakers, and their wiring | ₹10,000 (4 sockets, 15 m) | ₹16,000 (6 sockets, 24 m) | DSR (E&M) 2025, 1.57 and 1.5 |
| Wiring light and fan points | ₹9,000 (6 points) | ₹17,000 (12 points) | DSR (E&M) 2025, 1.3.1 |
| Sockets 6-pin sockets with switch, and their circuit wiring | ₹5,000 (2 sockets, 8 m) | ₹9,000 (4 sockets, 16 m) | DSR (E&M) 2025, 1.32 and 1.7.2 |
| Board and earthing a 6-way board, circuit breakers, a 30 mA residual current breaker and an earth pipe | ₹12,000 (4 breakers) | ₹12,000 (6 breakers) | DSR (E&M) 2025, 2.3.1, 2.10.1, 2.14.1 and 5.1 |
| Air conditioning 1.5 ton inverter split units, 5 star, installed | none | ₹87,000 (2 units) | DSR (E&M) 2025, 32.2.3 |
| Outside paint primer and epoxy paint | ₹18,000 (59 m²) | ₹35,000 (114 m²) | DSR 2023, 13.50.3 and 13.52.1 |
| These parts together | ₹4.3 lakh to ₹4.7 lakh | ₹8.4 lakh to ₹8.6 lakh | estimate, not a quote |
Our estimate, not a quote, rounded to ₹1,000. Box at the "from" price of our survey of 20 October 2026, plus GST. Haulage at one shipping line's published 40 ft rates, GST not stated; for 20 ft, estimated from them. Fit-out at CPWD's Delhi schedules (civil 2023, electrical 2025), whose rates carry GST and the contractor's margin; the crane at its hire charge, without them. The counts and sizes of piers, windows, points, sockets, the hatch, the counter, the basins, the pipe and the air conditioners are ours. Left out: cutting and framing the openings, the counter's base, glass, the entrance door, a washable finish on the walls and ceiling, light fittings, the exhaust fan and hood, a water heater and a water tank, the grease trap and the drain to a sewer or soak pit, the gas line and cylinders, kitchen equipment, furniture, fire extinguishers, digging for the piers, the electricity and water connections, design, approval and licences.
Ask for container café quotes →
Which container for a cafe: used, one-trip or high cube
The kiosk in the table is a used 20 ft container, priced from ₹1,04,000 before GST. A one-trip 20 ft container has fewer dents to hide from customers; it is listed from ₹2,25,000, by only 4 sellers in our survey. The café with seats is a used 40 ft high cube, from ₹1,58,000, for its headroom under a lined ceiling; a standard 40 ft container, from ₹1,55,000, is 30 cm lower inside. At the typical asking price rather than the “from” price, add about ₹19,000 for the 20 ft box and about ₹38,000 for the 40 ft; the method page explains both prices.
Why container cafe prices online look lower
Google shows container cafés from about ₹2 lakh. Most are cabins built new from steel sheet or panels and priced at the factory gate, before haulage, a crane, piers and air conditioning. A cabin 10 ft wide also gives more room behind the counter than a container, which is about 2.2 m wide once lined; a container, in exchange, can be lifted by its corners onto a truck when the café moves. In our table, the haulage from Mundra alone is ₹53,000 to ₹95,000 for the kiosk, and the insulation with its gypsum lining about ₹1.3 lakh: a converter near a port, or one who lines with cheaper panels, will quote less. Outside Delhi NCR the haulage line changes most; the delivery from ports page estimates other routes. CPWD’s civil rates date from April 2023, and building costs have risen since.
Can you start a café in 5 lakhs?
A kiosk shell, perhaps; a working café, hardly; a café with seats, no. On these yardsticks the 20 ft kiosk comes to ₹4.3 to ₹4.7 lakh, or about ₹3.7 lakh plus a short local delivery with a box from a yard nearby. What is left of 5 lakh must then pay for cutting and framing the hatch, the door, the hood, the coffee machine, the fridge, and the gas or the electricity connection. A 10 ft box is no saving: used ones are listed from ₹1,67,000, against ₹1,04,000 for a used 20 ft. The 40 ft café comes to ₹8.4 to ₹8.6 lakh. Budget the land or the rent of the spot separately.
Container cafe and coffee shop for sale: what we found
No café listed with a price in our surveys of 20 October 2026 and 22 October 2026 passed our test (a price for one unit, a stated use and length, a title saying it was converted from a used or modified shipping container, and no sign of a prefab cabin): most units sold in India under this name are prefab kiosks or cabins, which this site leaves out.
What is a container cafe? Real container or prefab cabin
A container café, cafeteria or coffee shop is a food counter built into a steel shipping container: a kiosk serving through a hatch in the long side, or a box with tables inside. Most of those listed in India are something else, a mild-steel frame clad with panels and built new, often 10 or 12 ft wide, the size of a cabin rather than a container. A real container is 2,438 mm (8 ft) wide outside and 2,352 mm inside, carries a CSC plate on its door, and keeps the corner fittings by which a crane lifts it. The container or porta cabin page explains how to tell them apart.
Container cafe design: hatch, counter and kitchen
20 ft container coffee shop: hatch and counter
Inside, a 20 ft box is 5,900 mm long and, once lined, about 2.2 m wide; the 20 ft dimension guide gives every measure. Under the hatch, a 600 mm granite counter with the sink cut into it leaves about 1.6 m to the opposite wall; with the coffee machine and the fridge against that wall, about 1 m is left for staff to work and pass, room for two people. Cutting a hatch of about 2.4 by 1.2 m takes a large piece out of the wall that holds the box up, so the opening needs a steel frame, and the corner posts and the top and bottom rails must stay whole. Put the hatch on the side that faces the street or the parking.
40 ft container cafeteria: kitchen and seats
A 40 ft high cube is 12,032 mm long inside and 2,698 mm high (40 ft high cube dimensions). A closed kitchen about 3 m long at one end, with its own door, leaves about 20 m² for the counter and the tables once the walls are lined. Keep the kitchen and the gas at the far end from the entrance doors, and the tables along the windows.
Licences: FSSAI registration, GST and the municipality
- FSSAI: since 1 April 2026, a food business with a turnover up to ₹1.5 crore needs a registration; a state licence covers ₹1.5 crore to ₹50 crore, and a central licence anything larger. The registration fee is ₹100 a year, and a registration issued since April 2026 stays valid as long as that fee is paid. The 2026 amendment counts temporary stalls and food trucks as petty food businesses.
- Hygiene: the FSSAI’s Schedule 4 asks for washable floors, walls and ceilings, screened openings, potable water at all times (stored if the supply is intermittent) and an efficient drainage system. Its part for food service establishments also asks for a kitchen chimney or hood and a hand-wash basin with hot and cold water; ask the food safety officer which part applies to your café. The gypsum board in our table needs a washable paint, or panels behind the counter.
- GST on what you sell: 5%, without input tax credit, for a café that is not in a hotel charging more than ₹7,500 a night (Notification 11/2017-Central Tax (Rate), entry 7(ii)).
- The municipality: a trade or health licence, which varies by city. In New Delhi’s NDMC area, an FSSAI or GST registration has counted as the health licence since February 2026.
LPG cylinders or an electric kitchen
The Gas Cylinders Rules 2016 need no licence while the LPG kept on site does not exceed 100 kg for your own use: five commercial cylinders of 19 kg make 95 kg. They ask for cylinders stored in a cool, dry, well-ventilated place, under cover and away from open flames.
City fire services add their own conditions. Mumbai’s, for one cylinder in use and one spare, ask for:
- commercial cylinders of 20 kg at most, approved by the Petroleum and Explosives Safety Organisation;
- the cylinder under a non-combustible platform with perforated metal doors, at ground level, never in a basement;
- an approved gas detector, an ABC extinguisher of 9 kg for every 100 m², and two sand buckets;
- for more than two cylinders, a cabin outside, 3 m away.
Mumbai allows the cylinder in use under the cooking platform. In a closed steel box, where leaking gas, heavier than air, collects at floor level, we would keep the spare outside and ask the fire service about the one in use. An all-electric kitchen (induction, electric espresso machine) avoids the cylinders but needs the power sockets in the table and a commercial connection sized for them.
Fire safety and seats
In Delhi, the fire service treats a restaurant with room for more than 50 people as an assembly building that needs a fire NOC, as a Delhi High Court judgment of April 2026 records. A 40 ft box, about 28 m² inside, holds far fewer, but tables set outside around it may count: ask the fire service how it measures. Elsewhere, ask the city’s fire service; the National Building Code 2016 was replaced in April 2026 by the National Building Construction Standards (SP 7:2026). CPWD’s schedules price no fire extinguisher, so the table leaves them out: add them to your quote.
Water, drainage and the grease trap
A café needs water at the counter and a drain that does not run onto the ground. The Central Pollution Control Board’s directions of July 2026 put restaurants of up to 100 seats in its White category, which has been exempt from the consent to establish and to operate since October 2025. Its conditions still include an oil and grease trap at the kitchen outlet, and a generator set of CPCB IV+ standard or running on gas. Plan the tank, the trap and the connection to a sewer or a soak pit with the site; the table prices only the sink, the basin and their pipe.
Where can a container cafe stand?
On private land, the rules we read in Delhi, Maharashtra, Mumbai, Chennai and Kerala treat a container used as a café like any building; on a road or a footpath, the municipal body must allow it. On someone else’s ground (a mall, a campus, a highway stop, a fair), the owner’s rules for food stalls apply on top of the city’s: get them in writing. The permission to place a container guide gives what we found. Set the box level on piers under its corners: see site preparation and unloading.
Heat in a shipping container cafe
A bare steel box in the sun turns into an oven: insulate the roof first, add shade or a second roof above it, and keep the hatch out of the afternoon sun. The table insulates both cafés and air-conditions the one with seats; the container house page gives the figures for heat and condensation.
Container cafe near you: how to get quotes you can compare
Container café manufacturers and converters rarely itemise their price. Ask each of them:
- The plan: kiosk or seats, the hatch, the counter, gas or electric cooking.
- The base box: a photo of its CSC plate, and whether it is used or one-trip.
- An itemised quote like the table above, with GST on each line, and for what it leaves out: the frame around the hatch, the entrance door and glass, the hood, the water heater, the drain and grease trap, the gas installation, the equipment, fire extinguishers, haulage and the crane.
- The paperwork and the time: who handles the FSSAI registration and the city’s licences, how long the conversion and delivery take, and the warranty in writing.
Asia Containers does not sell or convert containers. Describe your café in a quote request; partners who cover your PIN code and do this work can reply.