Container shop

By our estimate, a shop in a real shipping container costs about ₹2.5 to ₹2.9 lakh as a bare used 20 ft box with a rolling shutter, lights and earthed sockets, and ₹4.4 to ₹4.8 lakh insulated and air-conditioned; a 40 ft high cube shop with two air conditioners comes to ₹7.7 to ₹7.9 lakh. Cutting and framing the opening, shelves, a counter and signage come on top. Those totals take the box at the “from” price of our survey, a trailer from Mundra port to Delhi NCR, and the fit-out at the rates of the Central Public Works Department (CPWD); with a box from a yard near you, the bare shop comes to about ₹2 lakh plus a local delivery. No shop listed with a price passed our test of a real container: many “container shops” sold online are cabins of steel sheet or PVC, and some are a bare used box with nothing cut or wired.

Updated 22 Oct 2026
Illustration of a 20 ft standard container, side view
A used 20 ft container, the box of the bare and insulated shop examples.

Container shop price in India, part by part

Ask for container shop quotes →

Part20 ft shop, bare box20 ft shop, insulated, with AC40 ft high cube shop, insulated, with ACSource
The box
used, "from" price with GST added
₹1,23,000₹1,23,000₹1,86,000our survey
Haulage
Mundra to Delhi NCR, GST not stated
₹53,000 to ₹95,000 (estimated from the 40 ft rates)₹53,000 to ₹95,000 (estimated from the 40 ft rates)₹87,000 to ₹1,06,000published tariffs; our estimate from them (20 ft shop)
Crane
one day, before GST, margin and travel to the site
₹5,000₹5,000₹5,000DSR 2023, hire charges, 0037
Foundation
concrete piers of 600 mm cube, digging extra
₹7,000 (4 piers)₹7,000 (4 piers)₹10,000 (6 piers)DSR 2023, 4.1.3
Insulation
50 mm XPS board, walls and ceiling
none₹55,000 (53 m²)₹1,09,000 (106 m²)DSR 2023, 26.7 and 26.8
Inside lining
12.5 mm gypsum board on a steel frame, unpainted
none₹72,000 (53 m²)₹1,44,000 (106 m²)DSR 2023, 12.45.1 (a false-ceiling item)
Floor
ceramic tiles; the board laid over the plywood first is extra
none₹15,000 (14 m²)₹31,000 (28 m²)DSR 2023, 11.37
Shop front
steel rolling shutters over openings of 2.4 × 2.1 m
₹18,000 (5.04 m²)₹18,000 (5.04 m²)₹37,000 (10.08 m²)DSR 2023, 10.6.1
Wiring
light and fan points
₹7,000 (5 points)₹6,000 (4 points)₹12,000 (8 points)DSR (E&M) 2025, 1.3.1
Lights
36 W LED battens
₹3,000 (4 lights)₹3,000 (4 lights)₹5,000 (8 lights)DSR (E&M) 2025, 8.9.7
Sockets
6-pin sockets with switch, and their circuit wiring
₹5,000 (2 sockets, 8 m)₹8,000 (4 sockets, 12 m)₹12,000 (6 sockets, 20 m)DSR (E&M) 2025, 1.32 and 1.7.2
Board and earthing
a 6-way board, circuit breakers, a 30 mA residual current breaker and an earth pipe
₹11,000 (3 breakers)₹12,000 (4 breakers)₹12,000 (5 breakers)DSR (E&M) 2025, 2.3.1, 2.10.1, 2.14.1 and 5.1
Air conditioning
1.5 ton inverter split units, 5 star, installed
none₹44,000 (1 unit)₹87,000 (2 units)DSR (E&M) 2025, 32.2.3
Outside paint
primer and epoxy paint
₹18,000 (59 m²)₹18,000 (59 m²)₹35,000 (114 m²)DSR 2023, 13.50.3 and 13.52.1
These parts together₹2.5 lakh to ₹2.9 lakh₹4.4 lakh to ₹4.8 lakh₹7.7 lakh to ₹7.9 lakhestimate, not a quote

Our estimate, not a quote, rounded to ₹1,000. Box at the "from" price of our survey of 20 October 2026, plus GST. Haulage at one shipping line's published 40 ft rates, GST not stated; for 20 ft, estimated from them. Fit-out at CPWD's Delhi schedules (civil 2023, electrical 2025), whose rates carry GST and the contractor's margin; the crane at its hire charge, without them. The counts and sizes of piers, the shop front, points, lights, sockets and air conditioners are ours. Left out: cutting and framing the opening, a glazed door or front behind the shutter (which an air-conditioned shop needs), the counter, shelves and racks, fans, inside paint, signage, a lock box for the shutter, fire extinguishers, digging for the piers, the electricity connection, approval and licences.

Shop container for sale: the price of a second hand box

All three shops in the table start from a used box. A used 20 ft container is priced from ₹1,04,000 before GST, a used 40 ft from ₹1,55,000, and a used 40 ft high cube from ₹1,58,000; a one-trip 20 ft, with fewer dents for customers to see, is listed from ₹2,25,000. A used 10 ft box is no cheaper: it is listed from ₹1,67,000. The method page explains the “from” price; at the typical asking price, add about ₹19,000 for the 20 ft box.

Before paying for a second hand box, look at the roof from above for rust holes and standing water, at the floor for soft or burnt boards, and at the door seals and locking bars. How to inspect a used container goes through each point.

Why a portable container shop can cost under ₹1 lakh

Google shows “container shops” from about ₹65,000. At that price it is a portable cabin of thin steel sheet or PVC, often 10 ft wide, or a damaged box sold as it stands: damaged 20 ft containers are listed from ₹65,000, with holes or a weak floor that will let rain onto the stock. Neither price pays for haulage, a crane, the opening or the wiring. A cabin can serve a shop that never moves; a real container is lifted by a crane at its corners when the shop moves. Our bare 20 ft shop works out at ₹1,570 to ₹1,830 per sq ft of its 159 sq ft footprint, and the delivery from ports page estimates the haulage to cities other than Delhi. The CPWD rates are those of April 2023; prices have risen since.

Container shop for sale: what we found

No shop listed with a price in our surveys of 20 October 2026 and 22 October 2026 passed our test (a price for one unit, a stated use and length, a title saying it was converted from a used or modified shipping container, and no sign of a prefab cabin): most units sold in India under this name are prefab kiosks, or bare boxes sold as shops,, which this site leaves out.

What is a container shop?

A container shop is a small store built into a steel shipping container: a kirana or general store, a tea stall, a mobile phone or clothes shop, a ticket counter. Customers are served across a counter behind a rolling shutter, or walk in through it. Sellers use the same words for three things: a real used container with an opening cut in its side, a bare used box sold as a “shop container”, and a new cabin of steel sheet or PVC, often 10 ft wide. Only a real container was built with a CSC safety plate and the corner fittings by which a crane lifts it onto a truck, which is what makes a “portable container shop” portable. Cutting the shop front voids the plate’s approval: ask for its photo, or the box’s number, from before the conversion. The container or porta cabin page compares the real box with the cabin.

Container shop design: the opening, counter and shelves

Container shop design, side view of a 20 ft box: an opening of 2.4 by 2.1 m in the middle of the long side, framed in steel under a rolling shutter, with the corner posts and the top and bottom rails left uncut.2.4 × 2.1 m6,058 mm long, 2,591 mm highopening framed in steel, shutter rolled up;corner posts and top and bottom rails left wholeContainer shop design, seen from above: a 600 mm counter behind the shop front, shelves 400 mm deep against the opposite wall, and about 1.35 m between them before any lining; the box's own doors at one end.1.35 m to workshelves, 400 mmcounter, 600 mmshop frontdoors
Container shop design, drawn to a 20 ft box's outside and inside sizes. From the side: an opening of 2.4 by 2.1 m in the middle of the long side, framed in steel under a rolling shutter, with the corner posts and the top and bottom rails left uncut. From above: a 600 mm counter behind the shop front, shelves 400 mm deep against the opposite wall, and about 1.35 m between them before any lining; the box's own doors at one end.

The shop front in the table is a rolling shutter over an opening of 2.4 by 2.1 m in one long side of a 20 ft box, and two of them in a 40 ft. A wider opening weakens the wall more: Singapore’s Building and Construction Authority, in a 2023 circular, keeps openings to half the length of a wall, framed in steel, with the corner posts and the top and bottom rails left uncut. That allows one opening of up to about 2.9 m in a 20 ft box, 5,900 mm long inside, and two of 2.4 m in a 40 ft. Without any cutting, an open side container opens along almost its whole side, behind folding doors.

Inside, the box is 2,352 mm wide before any lining (see the 20 ft dimensions). A 600 mm counter behind the shutter and shelves 400 mm deep against the opposite wall leave about 1.35 m for the shopkeeper, and about 1.2 m once the walls are insulated and lined; a walk-in shop puts shelves on both long walls instead. Ask for the counter and the racks in the quote: our table leaves them out, as CPWD’s schedules have no item for shop racks.

Tea shop container: counter, stove and gas

A tea stall serves across the counter under the shutter and needs little room behind it: the bare 20 ft shop in the table holds one. The counter, a small sink, the stove and its gas line come on top; the container café page prices a 20 ft kiosk with a counter and a sink, and sets out the rules for LPG cylinders.

Security: shutter, locks and anchoring

A container shop is closed by its shutter at night, and the box’s own end doors close with their locking bars. Ask for a shutter that locks at the bottom, a padlock protected in a steel lock box, and the box fixed to its piers: the same Singapore circular asks for a converted container to be anchored to its foundation. Set it level on piers under its corners: see site preparation and unloading.

Heat: bare or insulated?

A bare steel box in the sun becomes very hot inside, which matters if the shopkeeper sits in it all day or the stock spoils in heat. The bare shop in the table has no insulation or air conditioning; the insulated one adds about ₹1.9 lakh for insulation, lining, a tiled floor and one split air conditioner. Air conditioning only works with a glazed door or front behind the shutter, which our table leaves out: with the shutter up and no glass, the cold air goes out to the street. A sheet roof on a light frame above the box, with an air gap, helps either way; the container house page gives the figures for heat.

Registrations for a small shop: GST, Shops and Establishments, the city

  • GST registration: a shop that sells only goods, all within its state, needs none until its turnover passes ₹40 lakh a year in most states; the limit is ₹20 lakh in Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Puducherry, Sikkim, Telangana and Uttarakhand, and ₹10 lakh in Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland and Tripura (Notification 10/2019-Central Tax). A shop that sells cigarettes or other tobacco, pan masala or ice cream, or also sells a service such as phone repairs, registers from ₹20 lakh (₹10 lakh in those four states); one that sends goods to buyers in another state registers whatever its turnover. A stall that serves tea to drink on the spot may be taxed as a food service instead: ask a tax adviser.
  • Composition scheme: up to ₹1.5 crore of turnover (₹75 lakh in some north-eastern states and Uttarakhand), a trader can pay 1% of turnover instead of regular GST. It then charges no GST to customers, claims none back on its purchases, and may not sell to buyers in another state.
  • Shops and Establishments: each state has its own act, and some have changed recently. In Tamil Nadu, registration is required from 10 workers; in Maharashtra, an ordinance of October 2025, since put to the assembly as a bill, asks shops with fewer than 20 workers only for an intimation. Ask your state’s labour department what applies to you.
  • Food: a kirana that sells food, packed or loose, a tea stall or a snack counter needs an FSSAI registration up to ₹1.5 crore of turnover; a street vendor who holds a certificate of vending is deemed registered. The container café page gives the rules.
  • The municipality: a trade licence, whose rules and fees vary by city.

Where can a container shop stand?

On private land, a container used as a shop is treated like any building in the rules we read (Delhi, Maharashtra, Mumbai, Chennai, Kerala): see permission to place a container. On a road or a footpath, the Street Vendors Act 2014 asks a vendor for a certificate of vending from the town vending committee, which sets the zone, the days and the hours; no-vending zones are closed to stalls, and vending without a certificate risks removal and a fine of up to ₹2,000. Whether a container placed there counts as the “temporary built up structure” the Act describes has not been settled, and a stall on private land facing the road may fall under both sets of rules: ask the committee and the municipality before the box arrives. A rented box is another way to start: see containers on rent, and ask the lessor before cutting one.

Container shop near you: how to get quotes you can compare

  1. The base box: a photo of its CSC plate or its number, used or one-trip, and its condition.
  2. The front: the size of each opening, how it is framed with the corner posts and the top and bottom rails left uncut, the shutter and its locks.
  3. An itemised quote like the table above, with GST on each line, and what it leaves out: cutting and framing the opening, a glazed door behind the shutter for an air-conditioned shop, the counter, shelves, signage, insulation, haulage and the crane.
  4. The time and the warranty: how long the conversion and delivery take, in writing.

Asia Containers does not sell or convert containers. Describe your shop in a quote request; partners who cover your PIN code and do this work can reply.

Ask for container shop quotes →

Container shop: the box, the café, cabins and permits