Container office
An office made from a real shipping container costs about ₹4.4 to ₹4.8 lakh in a 20 ft box and ₹7.9 to ₹8.1 lakh in a 40 ft high cube with a closed cabin, insulated, wired, earthed and air-conditioned, before the openings are cut and glazed, the entrance door, lights and a toilet. That is our estimate, part by part, at the rates India's Central Public Works Department (CPWD) uses, with the box hauled from Mundra to Delhi NCR. The one converted office we found listed with a price, a 40 ft unit, asks ₹4,00,000 without saying what that includes. Most "container offices" sold online are prefab cabins, 8 to 12 ft wide: a different product, compared on our container or porta cabin page.
Updated 22 Oct 2026Container office price: 20 ft and 40 ft, part by part
| Part | 20 ft office | 40 ft high cube office with a cabin | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| The box used, "from" price with GST added | ₹1,23,000 | ₹1,86,000 | our survey |
| Haulage Mundra to Delhi NCR, GST not stated | ₹53,000 to ₹95,000 (estimated from the 40 ft rates) | ₹87,000 to ₹1,06,000 | published tariffs; our estimate from them (20 ft office) |
| Crane one day, before GST, margin and travel to the site | ₹5,000 | ₹5,000 | DSR 2023, hire charges, 0037 |
| Foundation concrete piers of 600 mm cube, digging extra | ₹7,000 (4 piers) | ₹10,000 (6 piers) | DSR 2023, 4.1.3 |
| Insulation 50 mm XPS board, walls and ceiling | ₹55,000 (53 m²) | ₹1,09,000 (106 m²) | DSR 2023, 26.7 and 26.8 |
| Inside lining 12.5 mm gypsum board on a steel frame, unpainted | ₹72,000 (53 m²) | ₹1,44,000 (106 m²) | DSR 2023, 12.45.1 (a false-ceiling item) |
| Floor ceramic tiles; the board laid over the plywood first is extra | ₹15,000 (14 m²) | ₹31,000 (28 m²) | DSR 2023, 11.37 |
| Windows uPVC sliding windows of 1.2 × 1.2 m, glass extra | ₹24,000 (2 windows) | ₹48,000 (4 windows) | DSR 2023, 9.147.A1.1 |
| Inside doors flush doors of 0.9 × 2.1 m | none | ₹4,000 (1 door) | DSR 2023, 9.21.2 |
| Wiring light and fan points | ₹9,000 (6 points) | ₹14,000 (10 points) | DSR (E&M) 2025, 1.3.1 |
| Sockets 6-pin sockets with switch, and their circuit wiring | ₹8,000 (4 sockets, 12 m) | ₹15,000 (8 sockets, 24 m) | DSR (E&M) 2025, 1.32 and 1.7.2 |
| Board and earthing a 6-way board, circuit breakers, a 30 mA residual current breaker and an earth pipe | ₹11,000 (3 breakers) | ₹12,000 (4 breakers) | DSR (E&M) 2025, 2.3.1, 2.10.1, 2.14.1 and 5.1 |
| Air conditioning 1.5 ton inverter split units, 5 star, installed | ₹44,000 (1 unit) | ₹87,000 (2 units) | DSR (E&M) 2025, 32.2.3 |
| Outside paint primer and epoxy paint | ₹18,000 (59 m²) | ₹35,000 (114 m²) | DSR 2023, 13.50.3 and 13.52.1 |
| These parts together | ₹4.4 lakh to ₹4.8 lakh | ₹7.9 lakh to ₹8.1 lakh | estimate, not a quote |
Our estimate, not a quote, rounded to ₹1,000. Box at the "from" price of our survey of 20 October 2026, plus GST. Haulage at one shipping line's published 40 ft rates, GST not stated; for 20 ft, estimated from them. Fit-out at CPWD's Delhi schedules (civil 2023, electrical 2025), whose rates carry GST and the contractor's margin; the crane at its hire charge, without them. The counts and sizes of piers, windows, doors, points, sockets and air conditioners are ours. Left out: cutting and framing the openings, glass, the entrance door, inside paint, light fittings and fans, furniture, a toilet, fire extinguishers, digging for the piers, the electricity connection, design and approval.
Near a port, a box from a local yard saves most of the haulage line, ₹53,000 to ₹95,000 for a 20 ft box and ₹87,000 to ₹1,06,000 for a 40 ft one; the delivery from ports page estimates other routes. At the typical asking price of the box rather than the “from” price, add about ₹19,000 for a 20 ft box and about ₹38,000 for a 40 ft one. CPWD’s civil rates are those of April 2023, and building costs have risen since. The same yardsticks price a home in our container house price guide, and the method page explains how we read box prices.
Used container office for sale: the conversions we found
| Conversion | City of the listing | Price | Seen |
|---|---|---|---|
| 40 ft office container | Kolkata | ₹4,00,000 | 20 Oct 2026 |
Public listings in India that passed our test (a price for one unit, a stated use and length, a title saying it was converted from a used or modified shipping container, and no sign of a prefab cabin), from our surveys of 20 October 2026 and 22 October 2026. GST not stated. Most units listed as container offices or homes are prefab cabins and are left out. None of these listings details the fit-out (insulation, wiring, AC, toilet): ask for the list of inclusions before comparing.
Why container office prices online look lower
Most offices that Google shows from about ₹1.7 lakh are prefab cabins, built new of steel sheet or panels, and their prices rarely include haulage, a crane, a foundation or air conditioning. The converted 40 ft office listed above asks ₹4,00,000; in our table, the box, its insulation and its lining alone come to about ₹4.4 lakh. A seller near a port pays no haulage from Mundra, and may line the walls with cheaper panels than the gypsum board CPWD prices. Without the haulage and the air conditioning, the table comes to about ₹3.5 lakh for a 20 ft office and about ₹6.1 lakh for a 40 ft one.
20 feet office container price
A used 20 ft container is priced from ₹1,04,000 and a one-trip 20 ft container from ₹2,25,000. With the haulage, a crane, piers, insulation, lining, two windows, wiring, a board, earthing and one split air conditioner, the 20 ft office in the table comes to ₹4.4 to ₹4.8 lakh. No door-delivery tariff is published for a 20 ft box from Mundra to Delhi NCR, so the table uses our estimate from the 40 ft rates. A used 10 ft container, for a guard post or a small store, is priced from ₹1,67,000, against ₹1,04,000 for a 20 ft box.
40 ft office container price
The 40 ft office in the table is a used 40 ft high cube, priced from ₹1,58,000. It is 30 cm taller inside than a used standard 40 ft container, priced from ₹1,55,000, and keeps about 2.6 m of height once lined, against about 2.3 m. With a closed cabin, four windows and two air conditioners, it comes to ₹7.9 to ₹8.1 lakh. A one-trip high cube, from ₹3,00,000, saves the rust treatment for an office that clients will see.
Inside a container office: size and how many desks fit
The inside floor is 149 sq ft in a 20 ft box and 304 sq ft in a 40 ft high cube, before lining; the 20 ft and 40 ft high cube dimension guides give every measure. With 50 mm of insulation and a 12.5 mm board on each wall, the width falls to about 2.2 m (7 ft 3 in): a row of desks along one wall, and a passage.
The Directorate of Estates’ office space norms of 2017, which size central government offices, allow 40 sq ft (3.5 m²) for an assistant or a clerk, 60 sq ft (5.5 m²) for a section officer or a draughtsman, and 120 sq ft (11 m²) for the room of an officer at pay level 11. On that yardstick:
- 20 ft office: about 140 sq ft once lined, three desks at 40 sq ft, or two at 60.
- 40 ft office: about 285 sq ft once lined, a 120 sq ft cabin at one end and four desks, or up to seven desks in one open room.
What is a containerized office? Shipping container or prefab cabin
A containerized office is an office built inside a steel shipping container, or, as most Indian sellers use the word, a prefab cabin built in its shape. Of the 156 container offices listed with a price that we read on 22 October 2026, 97 were described as fabricated cabins, 49 did not say what they were built from, and 10 said “shipping container” in the title; 17 were priced per sq ft. A prefab office cabin is a mild-steel or galvanised frame clad with PUF or sandwich panels, built new to the size ordered, often 10 or 12 ft wide.
- Proof of a real container: a CSC safety-approval plate on the door, and a size-type code painted next to the container number: 22G1 for a 20 ft box, 42G1 for a standard 40 ft, 45G1 for a high cube. An 8 ft width alone proves nothing: cabins are also made 20 × 8 ft. See how to inspect a used container.
- Signs of a cabin: a width of 10 or 12 ft, a price per square foot, PUF, sandwich or GI panels, and words like “prefab” or “portable cabin”.
A real container can be lifted by its corner fittings and moved from site to site on a trailer. Once its walls are cut, its CSC plate no longer holds for sea transport without recertification.
Site office container: a portable office from site to site
A site office is often bought for one project and moved to the next; for a project of a few months, compare with an office container on rent. On our yardsticks, a 20 ft site office comes to ₹4.4 to ₹4.8 lakh. A WC and a wash basin add about ₹8,700 at CPWD’s rates, before the pipes, a water tank and a septic tank.
The Occupational Safety, Health and Working Conditions Code 2020, in force since 21 November 2025, replaced the Building and Other Construction Workers Act, and does not mention a site office. On a construction site of ten or more workers, it asks for first-aid boxes, and for a canteen from 100 workers. The central rules of May 2026, for sites under the central government, add a latrine for every 25 men and every 15 women. A container can house any of these. Most private sites come under their state’s rules, which we have not checked.
The National Building Code 2016, which applied where a state’s bye-laws adopted it, asked for site offices built of non-combustible materials as far as possible, and for a fire extinguisher within 15 m of any point on a construction site. It was replaced on 30 April 2026 by the National Building Construction Standards (SP 7:2026), whose text we have not read: ask the fire service what it applies now.
Container office design: doors, windows and openings
Put the door at one end and the windows in the long side, away from the afternoon sun. In a 40 ft office, a door at each end gives the cabin and the open room their own entrances. Every opening takes strength out of the box: a 2023 circular of Singapore’s Building and Construction Authority forbids cutting the corner posts and the top and bottom rails, limits openings to half the length of a wall, and asks for each opening to be framed in steel. Ask your converter to follow the same rules, and set the box level on piers under its corners: see site preparation and unloading.
Can you use a shipping container as an office? Power, earthing and heat
Yes, if the shell is earthed, the roof insulated and every opening framed in steel. A fault that touches a steel wall makes the whole box live unless the shell is earthed. The Central Electricity Authority’s safety regulations of 2023 require:
- A residual current device controlling every installation, of 30 mA at most in a home (regulation 44); fit the same in an office;
- Earthed sockets: three-pin, with the third pin permanently earthed (regulation 43);
- Earthed metal: every metal casing or covering of a supply line or apparatus must be connected to the earth, and every building must have protective equipotential bonding of its exposed metal parts (regulation 43). In a steel container, ask the electrician to bond the shell itself to the earth.
For the heat, insulate the roof first, then the walls, and put a second roof or shade above the box. A steel box also sweats on cool nights; the container house page gives the figures for heat and condensation. Size the air conditioner for the insulation actually fitted: the table counts one 1.5 ton split unit for a 20 ft office and two for a 40 ft one.
For fire, the Indian standard IS 2190:2010, in a guidance annex, suggests for offices one 4.5 kg carbon dioxide or 2 to 3 kg clean-agent extinguisher per 100 m², with at least two, each within 10 m.
Do you need permission for a container office?
A permanent office is a building, with the same plan approval as any other. For homes, the rules ask for rooms 2.75 m high, or 2.4 m if air-conditioned: a lined standard 40 ft box keeps about 2.3 m and a high cube about 2.6 m. Ask your authority which heights it applies to an office.
A site office is treated differently in some cities. Delhi’s bye-laws allow a temporary site office during construction, to be removed before the building is occupied. Maharashtra’s UDCPR lists temporary site offices inside a construction site, during the works, among works that need no permission. See permission to place a container for Chennai and the details.
Depreciation of a container office
Under the Income-tax Rules 2026, buildings are depreciated at 10% a year, “purely temporary erections such as wooden structures” at 40%, and general plant and machinery at 15%. We found no circular of the tax board on cabins or containers. In one appeal at the Delhi bench of the Income Tax Appellate Tribunal (appeal ITA 4443 of 2010), containers on a project site were held to be purely temporary structures, because they had no earth foundation and no earth flooring. Ask your chartered accountant how to class yours.
Container office near you: how to get quotes you can compare
Ask two or three container office manufacturers or suppliers for:
- The layout: the number of desks, a cabin or not, the doors and the windows, a toilet or not, drawn to your local bye-laws.
- The base box: a photo of its CSC plate, and whether it is used or one-trip.
- An itemised quote like the table above, with GST shown on each line, the insulation type and thickness, and whether transport, the crane and the foundation are included.
- The electrics: the board, the residual current breaker, the earthing of the shell, the sockets, and two fire extinguishers.
- The time to convert and deliver, and the warranty, in writing.
Asia Containers does not sell or convert containers. Describe the office you need in a quote request; partners who cover your PIN code and do this work can reply.